Service
support

Instruction of NEXO tire Installation

SERVICE

FAQ

  1. Installation Guide

    Installation Guide

  2. Caliper

    Caliper

  3. Maintenance

    Maintenance

  4. Product Usage Declaration

    Product Usage Declaration

  5. FAQ

    FAQ

Q1
What is the material of NEXO air-light solid tire?

A1: NEXO is made from NEXELL, a polymer composite developed by Otrajet, a company specialized in the development of polymer foam by introducing foam injection molding technology into the bicycle manufacturing process. As a result, NEXO satisfies various user demands such as lightweight, puncture-proof, inflation-free and multicolor. Unlike conventional EVA foam injection molding technology that applies only one material and can therefore only be used to produce tires for children's bicycles, Otrajet has applied the NEXELL material to bicycle tires. In addition to its stability, the advantages include wearability, weather-resitance, comfort, efficiency and good traction etc.

Q2
Is NEXO wear-resistant? What is the mileage of each tire?

A2. The NEXELL formulate was selected out of 130 materials and demonstrates outstanding wear-resistance. When tested on an equipment simulating various riding conditions, NEXO exhibited a tread wear of only 0.2mm after 5,000km (equivalent to 5 laps around Taiwan), and the water dispersion tread is still clearly visible. 5,000km is a reference value, the actual use condition depends on the environment and riding habit etc.

Q3
Does NEXO exhibit cracking after prolonged storage?

A3. After prolonged storage, conventional tires often crack or harden, this is caused by the reaction between the tire's rubber and O3 (ozone) in the atmosphere. However, the NEXELL material used to produce NEXO polymer-technology tire offers extremely stable chemical properties and therefore it will not react with O3 in the air, and it will not crack or harden even with prolonged storage.

Q4
What specifications are available for NEXO lightweight solid tire?

A4. See "PRODUCT".

Q5
What is the difference between NEXO lightweight solid tire and traditional pneumatic tire?

A5. In traditional pneumatic tires, the flow of air inside the tire when peddling gets the tire rolling forward. With NEXO lightweight solid tires, air trapped inside the countless independent air pockets is unable to flow around, thus the initial peddle requires slightly more effort, after that the riding sensation between the two tires is virtually identical.

Q6
Is NEXO air-light solid tire suitable for long journeys?

A6. NEXO lightweight solid tire is suitable for long journey, because besides anti-puncture and inflation-free functions, it also reduces numerous equipment and lightens the burden of travel. However, NEXO is a solid tire and thus cannot rely on the internal airflow to keep the tire rotating forward. According to laboratory statistics, NEXO's rolling resistance is roughly 20% than traditional pneumatic tires, meaning that the rider will experience the same level of fatigue at a distance of 80km as riders on pneumatic tires traveling a distance of 100km. Consequently, we suggest riders to plan a more relaxed journey, because not only will you experience the convenience of NEXO, you can also appreciate the culture and sceneries along the way.

Q7
How does the NEXO lightweight solid tire perform in terms of traction? Will it lose traction in the wet?

A7. From a general commuter point of view, NEXO lightweight solid tire offers the same amount of grip in wet and dry conditions as traditional pneumatic tires. However, one should avoid making sharp turns on the traffic line markings and be careful of wet surface when encountering tiled floors of verandahs in order to prevent danger.

Q8
What is the difference between NEXO lightweight solid tire and EVA foam tires on children's bikes?

A8. In the past, before advanced materials technology was available, solid tires could only be manufactured using EVA foam, which offers lower performance and is therefore applied to children's bike tires, as they are less demanding in terms of weight, elasticity and speed. If EVA foam material is applied to road bicycles, they will overheat at a speed of more than 10km/h and become burnt or charred, thereby severely compromising the rider's safety. NEXELL, the polymer composite developed by Otrajet, offers superior stability, traction, wearability and weather-resistance, perfectly caters to the needs of commuters or leisure travelers.

Q9
Will the color of NEXO lightweight tire fade?

A9. Basically, all objects exposed to UV ray for a long period of time will result in slight color variation due to attenuation, and NEXO is no exception. However, attenuation does not affect the performance of NEXO lightweight solid tires.

Q10
Does NEXO have a weight limit?

A10. Laboratory tests reveal that NEXO's maximum load is 120kg on two wheels. Deducting the bike frame's weight, NEXO can accommodate riders weighing up to 100kg.

Q11
What is the lifespan of the T-Bolt clasps used on NEXO, are they prone to cracking?

A11. NEXO with T-Bolt clasps has been tested at a speed of 40km/h for 5,000km without any component failures, therefore under normal riding conditions, NEXO's T-Bolt clasps should last for more than three years. Note: Cracking will only occur if it is store in an extremely arid environment for prolonged periods of time. Taiwan's tropical island climate offers sufficient humidity, thus T-Bolt clasps will not crack in this environment.

Q12
Is the NEXO lightweight solid tire really inflation-free? What if I get a nail puncture?

A12. The interior of NEXO lightweight solid tire consists of millions of independent, micro air pockets that support one another. Each pocket is filled with an inert gas nitrogen (N2) that rarely leaks out of the air pockets. Even if you get a nail puncture, the tire will not deflate because of several ruptured air pockets and become unridable.

Q13
Is NEXO difficult to install?

A13. For users installing NEXO for the first time, it may require longer time to explore the installation process. With some experience, a NEXO tire can be outfitted in about 5 to 10 minutes. Once installed, NEXO tires are free from chores such as inflation, repairing punctures or changing tires.

Q14
When is it necessary to replace NEXO tires?

A14. Just like traditional pneumatic bicycle tires, NEXO tires must be replaced if the tread is worn out in order to ensure safety.

Q15
Are other parts required to complete the installation besides the NEXO tire?

A15. Each NEXO tire comes with free full-size T-shaped safety fasteners to accommodate different rim widths. The T-Bolt clasps located between the rim and NEXO tire are designed to ensure the rider's safety by securing the NEXO tire on the central axis of the rim, so that the tire will not become loosened or dislodged from the rim, making it very safe.

Q16
Are the T-Bolt clasps reusable?

A16. The T-Bolt clasps may become slighted deformed during the installation process on the rim. For safety consideration, the T-Bolt clasps should not be used repeatedly.

Q17
Do I need to purchase additional T-Bolt clasps when purchasing the NEXO tire?

A17. NEXO DIY pack comes with free full-size T-Bolt clasps, there is no need to purchase them separately. If for any reason the NEXO tire is removed and installed again on the same rim, we strongly recommend purchasing new T-Bolt clasps to ensure maximum safety.

Q18
How do I remove the NEXO air-light solid tire from the rim?

A18.

Method 1: Cut the tire with a pair of scissors and remove it directly.

Method 2: Use the free NEXO tire installation tool enclosed to prod the space between the tire and the rim. After removing three to four T-Bolt clasps, you will be able to remove the NEXO tire with ease.

Service
support

安裝車胎技術與說明。

服務支援

常見問題

  1. 安裝指南

    安裝指南

  2. 游標卡尺

    游標卡尺

  3. 保養清潔

    保養清潔

  4. 免責宣言

    免責宣言

  5. 常見問答

    常見問答

Q1
NEXO輕量化實心車胎的材質是?

A1. NEXO是由專注於開發高分子發泡材料的歐特捷實業,將其所研發之高分子複合材料-NEXELL,以一體成形的射出發泡技術導入自行車胎製程,使NEXO實現兼具輕量、防爆、免充與多彩等使用者需求。有別於以往射出發泡技術應用單一材料EVA只能製作兒童車自行車胎,歐特捷將NEXELL應用在自行車胎上,不只提升騎乘時穩定性,也具有耐磨耗、耐候、舒適、省力及良好抓地力等特性。

Q2
NEXO 耐磨耗嗎?一條胎可以騎乘多少公里?

A2. NEXELL配方是經過130種材料版本以上所選定,在耐磨耗上有出色的表現:以測試設備模擬騎乘狀況:NEXO在連續騎行5,000公里(相當於環台5圈) 後,只有0.2mm胎紋磨耗、排水線依然清晰可見。5,000公里為參考值,實際使用狀況視環境、使用習慣等因素納入考量。

Q3
NEXO輕量化實心車胎久放會有龜裂現象嗎?

A3. 一般傳統氣胎久置,胎面常造成龜裂、硬化的現象,是因車胎中橡膠成分與空氣中的活性氧(O3,俗稱臭氧)產生反應所致。

但是NEXO高分子科技胎所採用的NEXELL材料,因為有著穩定性極高的化學特性,並不會與空氣中活性氧產生反應,即使久置亦不會產生龜裂、硬化等現象。

Q4
目前NEXO輕量化實心車胎有哪幾種規格?

A4. 詳見本官網"產品列表"。

Q5
NEXO輕量化實心車胎與一般傳統氣胎有何差異?

A5. 一般傳統氣胎在起步踩踏時,可藉由內部的氣體流動而帶動車胎向前滾動;NEXO輕量化實心車胎,儘管車胎內部有數以萬計的獨立氣室,然而彼此間的空氣無法交換流動,因此在起步踩踏時會有稍為需要出力的感覺,之後兩者間的騎乘感受已無差異。

Q6
NEXO輕量化實心車胎適合用於長程旅行嗎?

A6. NEXO輕量化實心胎的確相當適合長程旅行的使用者,除有防爆及免充功能外、同時可減少許多隨身裝備、減輕旅行負擔。然而NEXO為實心車胎、無法如同傳統氣胎借助內部氣體流動而帶動車胎的滾動向前;根據實驗室數據顯示,NEXO的滾動功率約為傳統氣胎之八成,意即使用傳統氣胎在100公里會出現的疲憊感,使用NEXO大約在80公里時就會出現一樣的感受。因此建議放寬旅程規劃,感受NEXO所帶來之便利外、也享受旅行沿途人文風光。

Q7
NEXO輕量化實心車胎的抓地力表現如何?遇到濕地會打滑嗎?

A7. 以一般通勤的角度來看,NEXO輕量化實心胎不論在乾地或濕地的抓地力表現與傳統氣胎無異;唯獨雨天時需避免在交通標線上急轉,同時遇騎樓磁磚地時,要小心地面濕滑、以免發生危險。

Q8
NEXO輕量化實心車胎v.s.童車EVA實心胎,有何不同?

A8. 過去因材料開發技術未突破,實心胎只能採用物性表現較低的發泡EVA材質,應用於對重量、彈性、速度感等沒有要求的童車車胎。

如果將EVA材料運用於自行車胎,會在時速10公里以後出現材料過熱、燒焦碳化現象,嚴重影響騎乘之安全;歐特捷所研發之複合式高分子材料NEXELL具有卓越的穩定性、抓地力、耐磨耗、耐候等,符合都會通勤、悠閒旅行使用者的需求。

Q9
NEXO輕量化實心車胎會褪色嗎?

A9. 基本上所有物體經過紫外線的長期照射,都會因光衰效應而產生顏色上些微的變化,NEXO也不例外。然而此光衰現象並不影響NEXO輕量化實心車胎的運動表現。

Q10
NEXO有使用重量的限制嗎?

A10. NEXO經實驗室測試,雙輪可負載騎乘者與自行車總重120公斤,扣除自行車車架可能重量,使用者體重高達100公斤以內NEXO皆可承受。

Q11
用於安裝NEXO的T型安全扣件使用年限多久?容易脆裂嗎?

A11. 裝載T型安全扣件的NEXO,在測試機台上以40km/hr的速度連續騎乘5,000公里後,扣件並無任何損壞、可繼續使用。因此在正常騎乘下,NEXO的T型扣件應可使用3年以上。

註:只有在極度乾燥的環境下久放,才有可能發生脆裂的情況;台灣屬海島型氣候、濕度充足,並不會出現T型安全扣件脆裂的現象。

Q12
使用NEXO輕量化實心胎,就真的不用再打氣了嗎?扎到釘子怎麼辦?

A12. NEXO輕量化實心胎內部是由數以萬計之相互獨立、卻又互相支撐的微米氣室組織而成。每個獨立氣室不僅完好的包覆著穩定氣體-氮氣(N2)、不會溢散,車胎扎釘時,也不會因其中數個氣室的破裂而使整條車胎洩氣無法騎乘。

Q13
NEXO會很難安裝嗎?

A13. 對於初次安裝NEXO的使用者來說,需要花費較多時間摸索整個安裝過程。待有經驗後,約5至10分鐘即可完成安裝一條NEXO輪胎;一但成功安裝NEXO輕量化實心車胎,將無需再顧慮打氣、補胎、換胎等瑣事。

Q14
何時需要將NEXO胎更換掉?

A14. 如同傳統自行車氣胎,當胎紋磨平時即建議替換新胎以策安全。

Q15
除了NEXO車胎外,還需要其他零件才能完成組裝嗎?

A15. 每條NEXO胎都將附贈全尺寸T型安全扣件,以因應不同車框內側寬度。而介於車框與NEXO車胎之間的T型安全扣件,主要作用為確保使用者騎行安全而生的設計,使自行車無論是高速過彎或碾壓石塊,皆能將NEXO車胎穩固於車框中心軸上、不會翻胎或脫框,相當安全。

Q16
T型安全扣件可重複使用嗎?

A16. T型安全扣件在安裝過程,為牢固於車框上而會稍微變形。為安全性考量,不建議重複使用T型安全扣件。

Q17
購買NEXO車胎時,也需要另外購買T型安全扣件嗎?

A17. NEXO DIY包裝皆會附贈全尺寸T型安全扣件,無需另外添購T型安全扣件。如因個人因素卸除後又重新安裝NEXO車胎至原有車框上,強烈建議添購並安裝全新的T型安全扣件以保障騎乘安全。

Q18
如何將NEXO輕量化實心胎從車框上拆除?

A18.

方法一:可直接使用剪刀破壞胎體後取下即可;

方法二:利用附贈的NEXO裝胎棒,穿越車胎與車框之間,先卸除3至4個T型安全扣件後,即可輕易取下NEXO車胎。